Skip to main content

Research Fellowship Competition

Research Fellowships are awarded to individuals of exceptionally strong academic record who have produced innovative doctoral research.
The College has two competitions – one for applicants within the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, and one for applicants within the Sciences. 
The application process for both competitions opens on Wednesday 1 September 2021 and closes on Thursday 30 September 2021.
Applications can be made via the following online site: 
There are 31 colleges within the collegiate University of Cambridge. Each College is an independent institution and appoints its own staff.

Previous winners


Orfeas Chasapis Tassinis (Law)

Stephen Turton (English)

Jan Steinebrunner (Mathematics)

Dr Michele Simoncelli (Physics)


Dr Emily Sandford (Physics)

Dr Christina Faraday (History of Art)

Vedran Sulovsky (History)


Dr Ted Tregear (English)

Dr Francesca De Domenico (Engineering)

Dr Lisa Kattenberg (History)


Dr Rebecca Sugden (Modern and Medieval Languages)

Dr Guy Emerson (Computer Science)

Dr  Lewis Owen (Material Sciences)

Dr Joseph Ashmore (English)


Dr Carl Turner (Mathematics)

Dr Tamsin Blaxter (Linguistics)

Dr Timothy Nicholas-Twining (History)

Dr Tom Arnold-Forster (History)


Dr Ruadhaí Dervan (Mathematics)

Dr Anna Judson (Classics)

Dr Will Handley (Natural Sciences)

Dr Manuel Will (Archaeology)


Dr John Gallagher (History)

Dr Johannes Hofmann (Mathematics)

Dr Giorgia Longobardi (Engineering)

Dr Simon Wolfgang Fuchs (Theology and Religious Studies)